• search

CM, Ministers file nominations

Written by: Staff

Thiruvananthapuram, Apr 3 (UNI) Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, Deputy speaker N Sundaran Nadar, United Democratic Front (UDF) Convenor P P Thankachan and Communist Party of India (Marxist) Central Committee Member M A Baby were among those who filed their nomination papers today for the coming Assembly elections in Kerala.

Mr Chandy filed his papers from Puduppalli, where he is facing Students Federation of India State President Sindhu Joy (CPI-M), who was remanded in 14 days judicial custody last week in connection with cases relating to recent student agitations.

Mr Sundaran Nadar (Cong) filed his papers from Parassala constituency.

The Election Commission (EC) said 245 candidates filed their nomination papers today. Of them, 197 filed their papers for the first phase and the rest for the second phase of the polls.

The last date for filing of nominations for the first phase is tomorrow and the second phase on Friday.

Mr Thankachan (Cong) is contesting from Kunnathunadu and Mr Baby from Kundara, where he is facing Former Minister Kadavoor Sivadasan (Cong) who also filed his papers today.

While Minister for Rural Development C F Thomas filed his nomination from Changanassery, Tourism Minister K C Venugopal filed his papers from Alappuzha. Minister for Food and Civil supplies Adoor Prakash, Minister for Water Resources Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan, Minister for Transport N Sakthan filed their papers from Konni, Adoor and Nemom respectively.

Former Forest Minister and Janata Dal (S) leader A Neelalohithadasan Nadar who resigned his MLAship today as he was denied a seat, filed his nomination as an Independent from Kovalam constituency. Mr Alphonse Kannanthanam, who resigned from the IAS recently, filed his papers from Kanjirapally as an LDF Independent.

Former Health Minister P Sankaran (DIC-K) and Youth Congress State President K P Anil Kumar filed their papers from Koyilandi and Sreekrishnapuram respectively. Former Forest Minister K P Viswanathan (Cong) who had to resign from the Chandy Government after the Kerala High Court made adverse remarks linking him with the sandalwood mafia, filed his nomination from Kodakara.

Former Speaker and Thiruvananthapuram District CPI(M) Secretary M Vijayakumar filed his papers from Thiruvananthapuram North.

Mr M Satheesan (Cong) filed his nomination papers from Malampuzha, where he would take on CPI(M) Politburo Member and Opposition Leader V S Achutanandan. KSU State President P C Vishnunath filed his papers from Chengannur.

In the first phase, 59 constituencies in Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kollam and Thiruvananthapuram districts would go to the polls on April 22.

In the second phase, 66 constituencies in Kozhikode, Wayanad, Malappuram, Palakkad, Thrissur and Ernakulam districts would go to the polls on April 29.

The elections in the state will be held in three phases and the notification for the final phase will be issued on Wednesday.

The third phase on May three will involve only 15 constituencies in the northern districts of Kannur and Kasaragod. The counting of votes would take place on May 11.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more