• search

Rajeev Chandrasekhar pips Ananthamurthy to enter RS from Karnataka

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, Mar 28 (UNI) In a keenly contested biennial election to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka, K Rahman Khan (Congress), K B Shanappa (BJP), M Rajasekhara Murthy (JD-S) and industrialist Rajeev Chandrasekhar (Ind) made it to the Upper House today.

While it was a cakewalk for Mr Khan, Mr Shanappa and Mr Murthy owing to their parties' strength in the Assembly, there was a keen fight for the fourth seat among three independent candidates, including eminent litterateur U R Ananthamurthy. However, it was Mr Chandrasekhar who eventually won the election, with the maximum number of votes polled -- 53.

Dr Ananthamurthy had to be content with just 24 votes.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more