• search

PSEB prevail over Kolkata team to retain title

Written by: Staff

Chandigarh, Mar 28 (UNI) Punjab State Electricity Board (PSEB), Patiala scored a hard-fought 2-1 triumph over runners-up Calcutta Electricity Supply Corporation, in the final of the 32nd All India Electricity Boards' hockey tournament here today.

PSEB were lucky to escape the onslaught of the Kolkata team in the second half. Playing a more organized game after resumption, the Kolkata powermen mounted relentless pressure and forced seven penalty corners. However, they could not translate these awards into goals. They were awarded penalty corners in the 44th, 46th, 49th, 50th, 57th, 58th and 59th and one in the first half.

CESC also had an advantage as they were playing against 10 PSEB players after Gurdeep Singh was shown red card for allegedly using abusive language against the umpires in the 48th minute.

Barely three minutes from the hooter, the Kolkata players were able to reduce the margin with AP Ekka scoring a field goal.

Earlier, the Kolkata players also protested against a penalty stroke award given against them in the 26th minute. Both umpires Gurmender Singh and Satbir Singh consulted each other and they stood their ground. The Kolkata players were not satisfied with the decision and they staged a walkout.

The members of the technical table tried to persuade them to continue the match. It was only on the intervention of Maha Singh, general secretary of the All India Electricity Sports Control Board, the Kolkata players agreed to take the field.

The match was held up for eight minutes.

Then Gurdeep Singh converted the penalty stroke to make it 2-0 in favour of defending champions PSEB.

PSEB made their intentions clear from the word 'go'. They threatened the CESC in the eighth minute. Following a good move from the centre, PSEB forward Jagjit Singh's reverse shot sailed over thebar.

He, however, atoned himself for the lapse by giving his team the lead in the 17th minute with a field goal. Hardial Singh built up the pressure and gave a long pass to Jagjit who caught CESC goalkeeper M Ram on the wrong foot.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh State Electricity Board beat Haryana Vitran Prasaran Nigam Limited by 6-5 in a high scoring match to decide the third and fourth positions.

MP scored through Richard and Dilshad (three each, no hat-trick).

Naveen Kumar (2), Naveen (1), Parkash (1) and Shaid Mirza (1) reduced the margin for Haryana.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more