• search

Kalraj, Katiyar make it to RS, SP set to send all its nominees

Written by: Staff

Lucknow, Mar 28 (UNI) The ruling Samajwadi Party today ensured the entry of all its five candidates to Rajya Sabha in the biennial elections from Uttar Pradesh, while BJP stalwarts Kalraj Mishra and Vinay Katiyar were re-elected after first round of counting.

The seven candidates who have already been cleared after first preference vote were: Mr Kalraj and Mr Katiyar (BJP), Mr Janeshwar Mishra and Mr Veerpal Singh Yadav (SP), Mr Monkhad Ali and Mr Balihari (BSP) and Mr Maulana Mahmood Madni (RLD).

Of the 13 candidates in fray, the lone Congress candidate Azad Kumar Kardam, Mr Satish Chandra (BSP) and Mr Sudhanshu Mittal (Indpendent) were eliminated as they could not muster a mimimum of 18 votes required as the first preference votes.

Even as the second round of counting was on, the election of Jagran group CMD and CEO of Channel 7, Mahendra Mohan Gupta, Mr Banwari Lal Kanchal and Mr Virendra Bhatia (all SP) remained a formality.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more