• search

CESC Kolkata, HVPNL, PSEB and MPSEB enter semis

Written by: Staff

Chandigarh, Mar 26 (UNI) Strong contenders Central Electricity Supply Corporation (CESC), Kolkata will face Haryana Vitran Prasaran Nigam Limited (HVPNL) while a well-balanced and formidable Punjab State Electricity Board (PSEB) will be pitted against Madhya Pradesh State Electricity Board (MPSEB) in the semi-finals of the 32nd All India Electricity Boards Hockey Tournament here tomorrow.

All the three quarter-finals played today were virtually one-sided affairs. CESC, Kolkata displayed good hockey as they routed Tamil Nadu State Electricity Board by 5-0 while HVPNL blanked of Chhattisgarh State Electricity Board by 3-0. Hosts Bhakra and Beas Management Board (BBMB) were forced to bite the dust as they were outclassed in all departments by MPSEB who won by 7-2.

It was BBMB which drew the first blood through Sanjay Kumar who scored a field goal in the ninth minute. He also netted his team's second goal in the 27th minute.

After the initial setback, MPSEB rallied smartly and equalised in the 15th minute through Richard. Richard netted two more goals in the 17th and 34th minutes. Other scorers from the MP side were Satnosh Patro (30th, 66th), Dilshao (45th) and Sandesh (53rd).

Sandesh was shown yellow card for arguing with the umpire and MP threatened to walk out in protest against the award.

PSEB moved into semi-final without playing their quarter-final match as Indraprastha PGC Limited and Tata Power Corporation Limited, both from Delhi, withdrew from the tournament, leaving only one team MPSEB--in pool D. The runners-up of this pool were to meet PSEB in the quarter-final.

In another quarter-final fixture, HVPNL capitalized on most of the chances that came their way as they beat Chattisgarh by 3-0.

Naveen Kumar contributed a brace with field goals in the 24th and 68th minute. Naveen contributed another goal in the 65th minute.

In the third quarter-final match, CESC Kolkata found Tamil Nadu an easy prey as they thrashed them by five goals to nil.

A Tikrey scored twice in the 7th and 69th minute, AP Ekka (1st minute), S Saha (13th) and K Kujur (9th, penalty corner) scored one goal each for the winners.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more