• search

EC receives presidential reference on Sonia, Somnath

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Mar 24 (UNI) The Election Commission has received presidential reference regarding 10 Members of Parliament, including Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, for alleged holding of an office of profit.

''The President has issued a notification that was referred to the Election Commission for verification,'' Chief Election Commissioner B.B. Tandon said today.

Ms Gandhi yesterday resigned from the Lok Sabha and as Chairperson of the National Advisory Council (NAC).

Others named in the presidential reference are Mr Karan Singh, Mr Subbirami Reddy, Ms Kapila Vatsayan, Mr Mukul Roy, Mr Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma, Mr Chandrapal Singh, Mr Nilotpal Basu and Mr Sanjay Jharadia.

Mr Tandon, however, was unclear as what would be the EC's reaction on Ms Gandhi, Mr Karan Singh and Ms Kapila Vatsayan as they are no longer members of parliament.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more