• search

Three of five BJP R S MPs belong to MP: Swaraj

Written by: Staff

Bhopal, Mar 20 (UNI) Senior BJP leader and former union minister Sushma Swaraj today said it was an honour for Madhya Pradesh that three of the saffron party's total five women Rajya Sabha members hailed from the state.

''There is talk about 33 per cent reservation for women but here the percentage exceeds to 50,'' she quipped to journalists after being elected to the Upper House from Madhya Pradesh.

Asserting that credit should be given to the BJP state President Satyanarayan Jatia, Ms Swaraj assured that she and three others -- Mr Vikram Verma, Ms Anusiya Uike and Mr Narayan Singh Kesri -- would contribute to the overall development of Madhya Pradesh.

Rajya Sabha MP Maya Singh also hails from this State.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more