• search

SS, Congress win AMC by-elections

Written by: Staff

Aurangabad, Maharashtra, Mar 20 (UNI) Shiv Sena and Congress candidates won the by-elections from the Shivshankar Colony and Kiradpura Ward of the Aurangabad Muncipal Corporation (AMC) today.

Ms Rekha Kathar of the Shiv Sena won the election from Ward number 66 defeating her nearest rival Ms Maya Shinde of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by a margin of just two votes.

Congress candidate Ibrahim Patel won the election by defeating his nearest NCP rival by a margin of 622 votes.

The by-elections were necessitated due to cancellation of membership of the elected corporators over the issue of their caste certificates.

Meanwhile, police had to resort to a lathi-charge to disperse violent NCP activists who had gathered around the election office, soon after the results were announced. The activists turned violent following the loss of their candidate by just two votes. NCP city unit president Manmohansingh Oberoi resorted to a hunger strike in front of the police commissionerate to condemn the lathi-charge.

The City Chowk Police had detained four persons in connection with the violent reaction, police said.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more