• search

Nitish, Sushil Modi and others elected to the council

Written by: Staff

Patna, Mar 20: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi and nine others were elected unanimously to the state legislative council today (Mar 20, 2006).

Acting secretary to Bihar Assembly cum Returning Officer Braj Kishore Singh Prabhat said state ministers and JD (U) candidates Ramashryaya Prasad Singh, Narendra Singh and Nagmani, BJP candidates Baleshwar Singh Bharti and Tarakant Jha, RJD candidates Uday Narain Rai and Bhim Singh, LJP candidate Sanjay Singh, Congress candidate Chandan Bagchi were also declared unopposed.

He said all the candidates, barring Mr Tarakant Jha, had also been given 'elected' certificates.

Jha could not be handed over the certificate as he was not present, he added.

They had been elected unopposed after time limit for withdrawal of nomination papers expired today.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more