• search

Congress bags all four wards in NMC by-elections

Written by: Staff

Nagpur, Mar 20 (UNI) Congress won all the four seats in the Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) by-elections, defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party candidates.

Keshav Amnerkar, Lalita Nimje, Vinayak Nimje and Kiran Pande of the Congress defeated Madhukar Parate, Rekha Kanoujia, Tukaram Hehlikar and Jagmkophan Rathi of the BJP respectively.

The bypolls were necessitated due to the disqualification of three corporators and demise of Kiran Pande's husband Binnu Pande.

The elections were held yesterday and the results declared today.

The NMC by-polls had witnessed a poor voters turnout with only 25 per cent of the total 100,000-strong electorate exercising its franchise.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more