• search

6 candidates in fray for RS polls

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, Mar 20 (UNI) Six candidates, including Jnanpeeth awardee U R Ananathmurthy, are in the fray for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka to be held here on March 28.

The Returning Officer told newspersons here that none of the candidates withdrew from the contest on the last day of withdrawal of nominations today.

Of the ten candidates who filed their nominations, only the papers of six were found to be in order after scrutiny.

Besides Mr Ananthamurthy (Ind), the other candidates in the fray were Rehman Khan (Congress), K B Shanappa (BJP), M Rajashekhara Murthy (JD-S), Rajeev Chandrashekhar (Ind) and B C Mallappa (Ind).

The elections were necessitated following the terms of Mr Rehman Khan, Bimba Raickar, K B Krishnamurthy (all Congress) and Rajashekhara Murthy (BJP) coming to an end.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more