• search

All five RS nominations found valid in MP

Written by: Staff

Bhopal, Mar 18 (UNI) The nomination papers filed by Union Minister Arjun Singh and four BJP nominees for the biennial election to fill up five Rajya Sabha seats from Madhya Pradesh were found valid during scrutiny today.

While Mr Singh filed three sets of nomination papers, BJP nominees- former Delhi Chief Minister Sushma Swaraj, former Union Minister Vikram Verma, Mr Narayan Singh Kesri and Ms Anasuiya Uike- filed two sets each and all were found in order, said Returning Officer and Madhya Pradesh Assembly Principal Secretary Dr A K Payasi.

The last date for withdrawal of nomination is March 20, when all five candidates would be declared elected unopposed.

Of the five seats falling vacant, Congress held three and BJP two. BJP renominated sitting members Mr Verma and Mr Kesri. For the lone seat winnable by the Congress, Mr Arjun Singh has been renominated.

Mr P K Maheshwari had not been given ticket by the Congress this time. Union Law Minister Hansraj Bharadwaj, who had earlier represented Madhya Pradesh, is being fielded from Haryana this time.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more