• search

Arjun Singh files RS nomination

Written by: Staff

Bhopal, Mar 17 (UNI) Union Minister for Human Resources Development Arjun Singh today filed his nomination for the biennial election to Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh.

MPCC President Subhash Yadav, leader of the opposition in the Assembly Jamuna Devi, senior party leaders, including Mr Singh's son Ajay Singh, were present when the ailing Union Minister, who was brought in a wheel chair, filed the papers before Returning Officer and Assembly Principal Secretary Dr A K Payasi.

The candidature of Mr Singh, who is at present a sitting member of the Rajya Sabha, has been supported by all opposition parties of the state.

Earlier, four BJP nominees- former Delhi Chief Minister Sushma Swaraj, former Union Minister Vikram Verma, Mr Narayan Singh Kesri and Ms Anasuiya Uike- filed their nomination papers on March 14. Mr Verma and Mr Kesri are sitting members.

All four BJP nominees and Mr Arjun Singh are likely to be elected unopposed after the scrutiny of the papers tomorrow.

Of the five RS members from MP retiring on April 2, the Congress has not renominated Mr P K Maheshwari, while Union Law Minister Hansraj Bharadwaj has been fielded from Haryana.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more