• search

AITC, Cong candidates file nomination for R S biennial elections

Written by: Staff

Kolkata, Mar 17 (UNI) All India Trinamool Congress candidate Mukul Roy and Congress nominee Subrata Mukherjee filed their nominations today for the biennial Rajya Sabha election from West Bengal.

The election has been necessitated for five Rajya Sabha seats, four of which are currently held by Mr Nilotpal Basu (CPI-M), Mr Dipankar Mukherjee (CPI-M), Mr Manoj Bhattacharya (RSP) and Mr Jayanta Bhattacharya (Congress)--all of whom are set to retire. The fifth seat fell vacant following the death of CPI (M) member Biplab Dasgupta.

Mr Mukherjee, who left Trinamool Congress before the last municipal election, told reporters that he was contesting at the directive of the Congress high command.

He said his fight was against the CPI (M) and he was hopeful about his victory.

Mr Mukul Roy, the General Secretary of Trinamool Congress, said the election would witness a ''grand alliance'' of the people.

With Mr Mukherjee and Mr Roy, altogether six candidates have filed their nominations. Today was the last day for filing nominations.

The state Assembly has at present 290 members with four seats remaining vacant.

Scrutiny of nomination would take place tomorrow while the last date for withdrawal of nomination was fixed for March 20.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more