• search

10 candidates in fray for RS elections in K'taka

Written by: Staff

Bangalore, Mar 17 (UNI) Jnanpeeth awardee U R Ananthamurthy is among the ten candidates in the fray for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha to be held here on March 28.

Backed by the All India Progressive Janata Dal and independents, Mr Ananthamurthy filed his paper on the last day for filing of nominations today.

Though Mr Rajeev Chandrashekhar had already filed his nominations yesterday as a JD (S) candidate, he filed another set of papers today with the support of the ruling coalition partner BJP. Besides four independents--B C Mallappa, M Munireddy, Harischandragowda and Shashikumar--also filed their papers today.

Mr Rehman Khan (Congress), Mr Rajasekhara Murthy (JD-S), K B Shanappa (BJP) and T Sudhakar (Ind) had already filed their nominations for the four Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka.

The seats fell vacant following the terms of Mr Rehman Khan, Bimba Raikar and K B Krishnamurthy (all Congress) and M Rajashekhara Murthy (JD-S) coming to an end.


For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more