• search

EC appoints 11 ROs for ensuing assembly poll in Pondy

Written by: Staff

Pondicherry, Mar 14(UNI) The Election Commission today appointed eleven returning officers to conduct the May three and eight assembly elections in the Union Territory of Pondicherry.

Addressing a press conference here, Pondicherry District Election Officer-cum District Collector Theva Neethi Das said while seven ROs will be for Pondicherry region, two will be for Karaikal and one each for Mahe and Yanam regions.

Unlike in the previous elections, an RO will have to deal with only three assembly constituencies this time, he added.

Mr Das said the EC had announced the list of six national parties in Pondicherry, while the AIADMK, DMK and PMK were announced as the recognised state parties.

Free symbols were being allotted to the registered parties as well as to the independents, he said.

He said the election department was strictly enforcing its order to remove posters, banners and cutouts from the roads and other public places, and two cases of violations were registered, one each in Pondicherry and Ynam regions.

He said the election department is receiving complaints on violation of model code of conduct, which are being verified.

So far no cases of violations have been registered, he added.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more