• search

New Zealand crush Indian women by 210 runs, win series 4-1

Written by: Staff

Christchurch, Mar 13 (UNI) Indian batting order collapsed like a house of cards for a meagre 62 with only two batters reaching the double figure as New Zealand eves crushed the visitors by 210 runs to win the five-match series 4-1.

Chasing a formidable victory target of 273, it was an abject surrender by the Indian batswomen who reached 22 for no loss and then lost all their wickets adding another 40 runs with Karuna Jain (19) -- who had an otherwise brilliant day with five stumpings to her credit -- and skipper Mithali Raj (12 not out) reaching the double figure.

It took the New Zealanders only 28.2 overs to bundle out the visitors for 62 runs with opening bowlers Sarah Burke (3/17) and Louise Milliken (3/30) wrecking havoc.

As in the series-clinching fourth ODI, the Kiwis made 272 for seven from their 50 overs with a century partnership between Suzie Bates (69) and captain Haidee Tiffen (79) setting the tone while veteran Emily Drumm contributed 67. Neetu David (3/44) and Reema Malhotra (3/52) grabbed three wickets apiece.

Scoreboard: New Zealand: RJ Rolls lbw b Sharma 2 SW Bates st Jain b Malhotra 69 HM Tiffen st Jain b David 79 SJ Tsukigawa c Goswami b David 1 SJ McGlashan st Jain b David 4 EC Drumm not out 67 NJ Browne st Jain b Malhotra 26 HM Watson st Jain b Malhotra 2 SK Burke not out 0 Extras (B-4, LB-13, W-5, NB-0) 22 Total (For seven wickets in 50 overs) 272 Fallof wickets: 1/17 2/122 3/125 4/131 5/197 6/268 7/272 Bowling: J Goswami 10-0-37-0 A Sharma 10-0-50-1 S Paranjape 4-0-22-0 N Al-Khadeer 7-0-50-0 N David 10-0-44-3 R Malhotra 9-0-52-3 India: Karuna Jain c Browne b Burke 19 Jaya Sharma st Rolls b Burke 4 Sunetra Paranjape c Watson b Milliken 4 Anjum Chopra c Drumm b Burke 5 Monica Sumra lbw b Milliken 1 Jhulan Goswami c Rolls b Milliken 0 Reema Malhotra c Rolls b Browne 4 Amita Sharma st Rolls b Dodd 3 Mithali Raj not out 12 Nooshin Al-Khadeer run out 0 Neetu David c McGlashan b Browne 0 Extras (B-0, LB-1, W-8, NB-1) 10 Total (All out in 28.2 overs) 62 Fallof wickets: 1/22 2/23 3/28 4/31 5/35 6/35 7/47 8/47 9/49 Bowling: LE Milliken 10-2-30-3 SK Burke 10-3-17-3 NJ Browne 4.2-2-5-2 AM Dodd 4-1-9-1 UNI XC AY KN1648

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more