• search

Congress Election Committee reconstituted

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Mar 13: Congress president Sonia Gandhi today (Mar 13, 2006) reconstituted party's Central Election Committee for making final recommendations about the names of candidates for the forthcoming assembly polls in five states and the elections thereafter.

The Committee, headed by Mrs Gandhi, has eleven members who are Union Ministers Pranab Mukherjee, Arjun Singh, Mrs Ambika Soni and Oscar Fernandes, Ahmad Patel, A K Antony, Margaret Alva, M L Fotedar, Mohsina Kidwai, Ram Naresh Yadav and Ashok Ram.

The new entrants to the committee are -- Mrs Kidwai, Mr Fotedar and Mr Ashok Ram. Mr Ram(SC) is a former minister from Bihar and now an MLA.

Those who figured in the previous Central Election Committee but do not find their names in the new committee are -- Moti Lal Vora, L P Sahi, Noor Bano, Mahavir Prasad and Prabha Rao.

The new Committee will be meeting here this evening at the residence of Mrs Gandhi to finalise the names of party candidates for the two phases of Assembly elections in Assam out of the names proposed by the Screening Committee.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more