• search

30 Plus New Judges Include Bombay HC CJ

Written by: Staff

New Delhi, Feb 24 (UNI) Bombay High Court got a new chief justice today and 30 judges were appointed or elevated in half a dozen high courts across India, including seven in New Delhi, it was announced.

The appointments by President A P J Abdul Kalam were public through eight separate announcements and included transfer of an Andhra Pradesh HC judge to Madras HC.

Gujarat High Court Judge Kshitij Rameshbhai Vyas was named new Chief Justice of the Bombay HC from the date he assumes charge of his office.

Born on July 19, 1944, Justice Vyas was enrolled as an advocate in July 1968 and practised in civil, constitutional, criminal, labour, service, taxation and revenue laws. He was appointed Additional Judge of the Gujarat HC in November 1990 and elevated as a Judge in November 1992.

In other appointments, seven Additional Judges were elevated as Judges in Delhi HC, six each in Allahabad and Gauhati HCs and five in Andhra HC, the announcements said.

As many as four Judges were appointed to Jharkhand HC and two Additional Judges to Bombay HC, they said.

Delhi HC Additional Judges Jaspal Singh, Manju Goel, Anil Kumar, Gita Mittal, Shripathi Ravindra Bhat, Rekha Sharma and Sanjiv Khanna were appointed Judges in that order of seniority.

Allahabad HC Additional Judges Vikaram Nath, Sabhajeet Yadav, Shailendra Saksena, Onkar Nath Khandelwal, Ram Prasad Yadav and Jag Mohan Paliwal were appointed Judges in that order of seniority.

Gauhati HC Additional Judges Hirendra Nath Sarma, Brojendra Prasad Katakey, Anima Hazarika, Alokbaran Pal, Maibam Binoykumar Singh and T Nandakumar Singh were appointed Judges in that order of seniority.

Andhra Pradesh HC Additional Judges Gunda Chandraiah, Ramesh Ranganathan, Munnangi Venkateswara Reddy, Palleti Lakshmana Reddy and Pamulparthy Swaroop Reddy were appointed Judges in that order of seniority.

Also appointed Judges of the Jharkhand HC were Justices Dhananjay Prasad Singh, D Ganeshrao Patnaik, Rakesh Ranjan Prasad and Dilip Kumar Sinha in that order of seniority.

Appointed Additional Judges of the Bombay HC were Shrishen Ratanlal Dongaonkar and Vikas Ramchandra Kingaonkar in that order of seniority for two years from the day they assume office.

An announcement said President Kalam, ''after consultation'' with Chief Justice Y K Sabharwal, transferred Andhra Pradesh HC Judge Makena Eswara Narasimha Patrudu as Judge of the Madras HC and asked him to assume charge by March seven.

Appointments take effect from the day judges assume their respective office, the announcements said.


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more