• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

UP By-poll Results 2019: BJP wins 8, SP 3; BSP, Cong draw blank


Lucknow, Oct 24: In politically crucial Uttar Pradesh, the ruling BJP has won eight, one less than it held, as final results were declared on Thursday for the 11 seats that went to polls this week.

While the SP turned out to be a major gainer in UP Assembly bypolls, wresting a seat each from the ruling BJP and the BSP.

UP By-poll Results 2019: BJP leads in 6 seats, SP leads in 2

The SP wrested Zaidpur seat from the ruling BJP and Jalalpur seat from the BSP, while retaining Rampur. The BJP bagged seven seats and its ally Apna Dal (S) one. The saffron party retained Balha, Gangoh, Manikpur, Ghosi, Iglas, Lucknow Cantt and Govindnagar, while Apna Dal (S) retained Pratapgarh.

Maharashtra results 2019: NCP's Ajit Pawar leads in family bastionMaharashtra results 2019: NCP's Ajit Pawar leads in family bastion

Of the 11 seats of the state where by-polls were held on Monday, eight were held by the BJP and one by its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal).

Two other seats were shared by the Samajwadi Party and the BSP. The by-polls were mostly necessitated after sitting legislators got elected to the Lok Sabha in May.

The Ghosi seat fell vacant following the resignation of sitting MLA Phagu Chauhan after he was appointed as Bihar governor.

The BJP currently has 302 members in the 403-member assembly, NDA ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) has eight MLAs, the SP has 47, the BSP has 18, while the Congress has seven.

The by- elections are being seen as a litmus test for the opposition parties which failed to make an impact in the Lok Sabha elections against the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in May.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X