• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

Full List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners (1969-2022)

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 27: Veteran actor Asha Parekh will be honored with the Dadasaheb Phalke award for 2020, the highest recognition in the field of Indian cinema, Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur said on Tuesday. The 79-year-old actor, best known for films such as ''Dil Deke Dekho'', ''Kati Patang'', ''Teesri Manzil'', and ''Caravan'', is considered one of the most influential actresses of all time in Hindi cinema.

List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners (1969-2022)

Last year, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2019 was conferred on Rajinikanth.

Dadasaheb Phalke award winners receive this recognition annually during the National Film Awards (NFA) event by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an institution formed by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's largest laurel in cinema. A committee of prominent Indian movie industry figures selects the laureate for their "significant contribution to the evolution and advancement of Indian cinema."

Asha Parekh to be conferred with Dadasaheb Phalke AwardAsha Parekh to be conferred with Dadasaheb Phalke Award

The award was first presented in 1969 by the Indian Government to honor Dadasaheb Phalke's contribution to Indian film. Phalke (1870-1944), also known as "the Father of Indian Painting," was a painter in India who lived from 1870 to 1944. Dadasaheb Phalke award winners are given in the form of a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize of ₹1,000,000.

List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners Year-Wise

Below is the list of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners with Ceremonial Year, Recipient, and Film Industry.

Ceremonial Year Recipient Film industry
2019 (67th) Rajnikanth Tamil
2018 (66th) Amitabh Bachchan Hindi
2017 (65th) Vinod Khanna Hindi
2016 (64th) Kasinathuni Viswanath Telugu
2015 (63rd) Manoj Kumar Hindi
2014 (62nd) Shashi Kapoor Hindi
2013 (61st) Gulzar Hindi
2012 (60th) Pran Hindi
2011 (59th) Soumitra Chatterjee Bengali
2010 (58th) K. Balachander Tamil, Telugu
2009 (57th) D. Ramanaidu Telugu
2008 (56th) V. K. Murthy Hindi
2007(55th) Manna Dey Bengali, Hindi
2006 (54th) Tapan Sinha Bengali, Hindi
2005 (53rd) Shyam Benegal Hindi
2004 (52nd) Adoor Gopalakrishnan Malayalam
2003 (51st) Mrinal Sen Bengali
2002 (50th) Dev Anand Hindi
2001 (49th) Yash Chopra Hindi
2000 (48th) Asha Bhosle Hindi, Marathi
1999 (47th) Hrishikesh Mukherjee Hindi
1998 (46th) B. R. Chopra Hindi
1997 (45th) Kavi Pradeep Hindi
1996 (44th) Sivaji Ganesan Tamil
1995 (43rd) Rajkumar Kannada
1994 (42nd) Dilip Kumar Hindi
1993 (41st) Majrooh Sultanpuri Hindi
1992 (40th) Bhupen Hazarika Assamese
1991 (39th) Bhalji Pendharkar Marathi
1990 (38th) Akkineni Nageswara Rao Telugu
1989 (37th) Lata Mangeshkar Hindi, Marathi
1988 (36th) Ashok Kumar Hindi
1987 (35th) Raj Kapoor Hindi
1986 (34th) B. Nagi Reddy Telugu
1985 (33rd) V. Shantaram Hindi, Marathi
1984 (32nd) Satyajit Ray Bengali
1983 (31st) Durga Khote Hindi, Marathi
1982 (30th) L. V. Prasad Hindi, Tamil, Telugu
1981 (29th) Naushad Hindi
1980 (28th) Paidi Jairaj Hindi, Telugu
1979 (27th) Sohrab Modi Hindi
1978 (26th) Raichand Boral Bengali, Hindi
1977 (25th) Nitin Bose Bengali, Hindi
1976 (24th) Kanan Devi Bengali
1975 (23rd) Dhirendra Nath Ganguly Bengali
1974 (22nd) Bommireddy Narasimha Reddy Telugu
1973 (21st) Ruby Myers (Sulochana) Hindi
1972 (20th) Pankaj Mullick Bengali & Hindi
1971 (19th) Prithviraj Kapoor Hindi
1970 (18th) Birendranath Sircar Bengali
1969 (17th) Devika Rani Hindi

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X