• search

Karnataka Bypoll results: Congress registers massive victory in Bellary

Subscribe to Oneindia News
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Bengaluru, Nov 6: Congress candidate VS Ugrappa handed out a humiliating defeat to BJP candidate and former MP J Shantha in the byelection held for Bellary Lok Sabha seat. Ugrappa won by a margin of 2,43,161 votes.

    Congress candidate VS Ugrappa

    Also Read | Telangana elections: Wait gets longer as Congress set to announce candidate list on Nov 9

    Senior Congress leader Ugrappa got 6,28,365 votes in the LS seat held by Shantha's brother BJP leader B Sriramulu in 2014 election. Shantha polled 3,85,204 votes.  Sriramulu had vacated the seat after successfully contesting the assembly election from Molakalmuru.

    The Bellary parliamentary seat has six Congress MLAs and 3 BJP MLAs.

    Also Read | Karnataka Lok Sabha bypolls: Acid test for Congress-JDS alliance

    The massive victory is a big boost for pre-poll alliance in the state ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Top JD(S) leaders, including former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda and Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, campaigned for the Congress candidate in Ballari.

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more