• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

By poll 2021 Updates: Voting for two Lok Sabha, 12 assembly seats held peacefully; result on 2 May

By Anuj Cariappa

New Delhi, Apr 17: Bypolls were held for two parliamentary constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka and 12 assembly seats spread across 10 states on Saturday.

The by-election in Pipili assembly seat in Odisha was adjourned following the death of Congress candidate Ajit Mangaraj due to COVID-19 on Wednesday. In Nagaland, only one candidate H Chuba Chang of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) had filed nomination for the bypoll to the Noksen assembly constituency and was elected unopposed, the Election Commission said.

By poll 2021 Live: All arrangements in place to ensure safe polling

Newest First Oldest First
11:24 PM, 17 Apr
Polling was also held for Sahara, Rajsamand and Sujangarh seats in Rajasthan; Pandharpur-Mangalvedha assembly constituency in Morva Hadaf (ST) assembly seat of Gujarat''s Panchmahal district; Nagarjuna Sagar seat in Telangana and Madhupur seat of Jharkhand.
11:23 PM, 17 Apr
Nearly 70 per cent voters exercised their franchise in Mizoram for by-election to the Serchhip assembly seat, where six candidates, including those of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), ZPM and the Congress, are in fray.
11:05 PM, 17 Apr
Over 62% voter turnout recorded in Maski Assembly bypoll in Raichur district, says Election Commission
11:04 PM, 17 Apr
Amid a surge in COVID-19 cases and strict restrictions, a voter turnout of 57.81 per cent was recorded in the by-election to the Pandharpur-Mangalvedha Assembly constituency in Maharashtra'' Solapur district till 5 pm on Saturday.
9:00 PM, 17 Apr
A turnout of over 43 per cent was recorded in the bypoll to the Salt Assembly seat in Uttarakhand''s Almora on Saturday.
8:43 PM, 17 Apr
About 60-64 per cent turnout was recorded in the bypoll to the Tirupati (SC) Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh, even as opposition parties alleged large-scale casting of bogus votes and sought cancellation of the election.
8:17 PM, 17 Apr
Damoh district returning officer Tarun Rathi said the polling percentage might go up to 70 or 75 per cent after factoring in the figures of the final polling, which ended at 7 pm.
8:17 PM, 17 Apr
Amid COVID-19 surge, tentative 60 per cent voting was recorded in the by-election to Damoh assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh till 6 pm on Saturday where the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress are locked in a straight contest.
7:38 PM, 17 Apr
Polling in 15,789 polling stations spread across 45 assembly constituencies in West Bengal phase-5 elections, bye-election in two parliamentary constituencies and 12 assembly constituencies across 10 States conducted peacefully today: Election Commission
6:57 PM, 17 Apr
Belagavi reports 46.70% voting till 5 pm, Maski 62.76, Basavakalyan 52.40%
6:56 PM, 17 Apr
Telangana's Nagarjuna Sagar assembly constituency records 81.5 per cent voting till 5 pm
5:47 PM, 17 Apr
A total of 44.89 per cent voter turnout was registered till 3 pm in the bypolls to three assembly constituencies in Rajasthan on Saturday.
5:29 PM, 17 Apr
Karnataka BJP expels former MLA Mallikarjun Khuba for contesting as independent against its candidate in Basavakalyan assembly bypoll
4:58 PM, 17 Apr
Altogether 19,520 voters, including 10,329 women, are eligible to decide the fate of six candidates, including those of the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), ZPM and the Congress.
4:58 PM, 17 Apr
An estimated 69.5 per cent of over 19,000 voters exercised their franchise till 3 pm on Saturday for by-election to the Serchhip assembly seat in Mizoram
4:44 PM, 17 Apr
35.55% voting reported in Karnataka's Belagavi constituency till 3pm
4:38 PM, 17 Apr
47.42% per cent polling recorded in Chittoor
4:17 PM, 17 Apr
The Election Commission has taken serious note of it and directed the Collectors of Chittoor and SPS Nellore districts to crack down on the bogus voters and ensure a fair poll, Chief Electoral Officer K Vijayanand said in a statement.
4:03 PM, 17 Apr
The opposition parties, Telugu Desam, BJP and Congress on Saturday demanded that the bypoll to Tirupati(SC) Lok Sabha constituency be cancelled forthwith, alleging that the ruling YSR Congress instigated bogus voting on a large scale, particularly in the temple town Tirupati.
3:39 PM, 17 Apr
Nagarjuna Sagar assembly constituency records 53.3% polling till 1pm
3:01 PM, 17 Apr
Polling for the seat began at 7 am and will go on till 5 pm, he said.
3:00 PM, 17 Apr
A total of 21.47 per cent of voters have exercised their franchise in the first four hours of voting, Almora District Magistrate Nitin Singh Bhadauria said.
3:00 PM, 17 Apr
125-Morva Hadaf (ST) Bye-Election images
2:59 PM, 17 Apr
A voter turnout of 21.47 per cent was recorded till 11 am on Saturday for bypolls to Salt assembly seat in Uttarakhand''s Almora district, an official said.
1:52 PM, 17 Apr
A voter turnout of 19.40 per cent was registered till 12 pm on Saturday in the bypoll to Morva Hadaf (ST) assembly seat of Gujarat''s Panchmahal district, officials said. Of the 2.19 lakh registered voters, 19.40 per cent voters exercised their franchise between 7 am and 12 pm. Voting would continue till 6 pm, a release by the office of Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) for Gujarat said. Voting is currently underway at 329 polling booths in the constituency.
1:34 PM, 17 Apr
A total of 23.94 voter turnout was registered at 11 am. Sahara (Bhilwara) registered 23.94 percent, Rajsamand recorded 23.92 per cent and Sujangarh (Churu) recorded 21.9 per cent turnout, according to a spokesperson.
1:07 PM, 17 Apr
Over 23 per cent voter turnout was registered in the first four hours of voting in the three assembly constituencies of Rajasthan where polling began at 7 am on Saturday amid tight security arrangements.
12:54 PM, 17 Apr
Basavkalyan records 19.48 per cent voting till 11am.
12:41 PM, 17 Apr
Chief electoral officer Shashank Goel said 12.9 per cent was recorded up to 9am. This polling percentage is considered as a good turn out of the electorate in the first two hours.
12:33 PM, 17 Apr
BJP rebel candidate Mallikarjun Khuba casted his vote at Tripurant polling station in Basavakalyan town.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X