Know Constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: CHARKHARI (GEN)

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:


<--------------------------------Read previous constituency: MAHOBA

---------------------------------> Read next constituency: TINDWARI

Constituency Name: CHARKHARI (GEN)

[1-Kulpahar Tehsil; KCs 1-Charkhari, 3-Soopa & Charkhari MB of 2-Charkhari Tehsil. ]

Constituency Number: 231

2012 Assembly Election Result in CHARKHARI (GEN)

  • Winner: Uma Bharti 
  • Winning Party: BJP 
  • Winning Votes: 66,888 
  • Runner Up: Kaptan Singh
  • Runner Up Party: SP 
  • Runner Up Votes: 41,623 
  • Total Votes: 1,92,365 
  • Margin: 25,265
  • Margin Percent: 13.13% 
  • Turnout: 61.35%
  • Electors: 3,13,564
  • Total Votes Polled: 1,92,365 (61.4%)
  • Total Valid Votes: 1,92,365 (61.3%)

District: MAHOBA

  • Total Area: 3,116 square kilometer
  • Actual Population: 875,958
  • Male: 466,358
  • Female: 409,600
  • Total SC population: 2,20,898
  • Total ST population: 647
  • Male Literacy: 75.83%
  • Female Literacy: 53.22
  • Male Literates: 302,283
  • Female Literates: 185,823


The land of valient fighters and warriors, Mahoba is a place of historical importance. The stories Of Veer ALHA and UDAL defines its importance in Indian history. This district is close to Khajuraho, Laundi and other historic places like Kulpahar, Charkhari, Kalinjar, Orchha, and Jhansi. The name Mahoba itself holds significant importance, which means 'Mahotsav Nagar', the city of great festivals. The Ram Kund and the Sita Rasoi caves are located in this district. The hills here are considered the residence of Rama during his 14-year exile.

Please Wait while comments are loading...