• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

UP civic polls 2017: Voting ends for second phase in 25 districts


The voting for the second phase of Uttar Pradesh Local Elections 2017 in 25 districts, including Varanasi from where Narendra Modi is a member of Lok Sabha, concluded on Sunday at 5pm.

Uttar Pradesh: Voting for second phase of local body elections begins

At 3.30pm, Sultanpur (47.70%), Amroha (46.5%), Aligarh (42.35%) and Muzaffarnagar (43.3%) saw the highest voter turnouts.

Leaving no stone unturned to ensure that the saffron party emerges victorious in the ongoing urban local bodies polls in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP has assigned tasks to 31 MLAs, whose Assembly constituencies do not have a nagar panchayat or nagar palika parishad within their limits.

Keshav Prasad Maurya and his wife caste their vote in Allahabad.

Uttar Pradesh minister Mukut Bihari Verma casts his vote in Bahraich.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh leaves after casting his vote in Lucknow

In 2012, the BJP had swept the mayoral polls, winning 10 of the 12 posts of mayor in the state.

In the first phase of polling, over 52 per cent voting was recorded, with Congress bastion Amethi logging a high turnout of 68.44 per cent and Adityanath's home turf Gorakhpur registering the lowest poll percentage. The polling had passed off peacefully in all the 24 districts.

Mayoral polls were also held for five municipal corporations -- Agra, Kanpur, Ayodhya, Gorakhpur and Meerut. According to the State Election Commission, the overall polling percentage in the first phase stood at 52.59.

Besides Varanasi, the districts going to polls in the second phase are Muzaffarnagar, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budhnagar, Amroha, Rampur, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur, Aligarh, Mathura, Mainpuri , Farrukhabad, Etawah, Lalitpur, Banda, Allahabad, Lucknow, Sultanpur, Ambedkarnagar, Bahraich, Shrawasti, Sant Kabirnagar, Deoria, Ballia and Bhadohi.

Polling for the third and final phase covering 26 districts will take place on November 29. Counting of votes for all the three phases will be on December 1 and results will be declared the same day.

As many as 1.29 crore voters will exercise their franchise in the second phase of the three-tier civic polls.

OneIndia News


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more