• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Bypolls 2019: BJP leader to contest on Apna Dal ticket in UP


Lucknow, Sep 30: In a surprise move, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Raj Kumar Pal from the Uttar Pradesh's Pratapgarh Assembly seat on an Apna Dal ticket in the upcoming bypoll.

Raj Kumar Pal, presently district-level BJP secretary was earlier with the Samajwadi Party (SP).

Yogi Adityanath

After much deliberations on Sunday, the BJP decided to hand back the seat to Apna Dal, but on the condition that the candidate would be of its choice.

In 2017, the Apna Dal MLA Sangam Lal Gupta won the seat but later switched over to the BJP to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP on Sunday named its candidates for bypolls to 32 Assembly constituencies, which are spread across several states.

Bypolls 2019: Not only votes, but divided Opposition may help BJP in Bihar

Of the 32 Assembly seats, 10 are in Uttar Pradesh, five in Kerala, four in Assam, two each in Himachal Pradesh, Punjab and Sikkim and one each in Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Rajasthan and Telangana.

Bypolls will be held for 51 Assembly seats on October 21, along with the state elections in Haryana and Maharashtra.

The BJP is likely to name the candidates for the remaining seats soon.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more