• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Rajya Sabha Election 2018 Results: BJP wins 9 seats out of 10 in UP; SP wins one

By Chennabasaveshwar

Counting of votes for Rajya Sabha election has begun at 5 pm.According to initial reports, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley won the RS seat from Uttar Pradesh.

Of the 58 seats in the Upper House to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states have been unanimously elected. The most-watched state in Rajya Sabha poll is BJP-ruled Uttar Pradesh. The saffron party has fielded 9 candidates while the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party one each.

Rajya Sabha Election 2018 Results Live Updates: All Eyes on UP Polls

To ensure a win from UP, each candidate would need to get 37 preference votes. With the BJP and allies having 324 MLAs in the UP Legislative Assembly, the BJP will have no problem in sending 8 of its candidates to the Upper House of Parliament. While the elections in Uttar Pradesh are being watched closely, contests are on in six other states as well; West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Kerala and Telangana.

The counting has evoked curiosity as cross-votings have been reported from Uttar Pradesh. Apart from that, the Karnataka Assembly witnessed a ruckus during the voting as JD (S) and polling official were involved in a verbal spat over wrong voting by two Congress leaders. Rajya Sabha seats due to fall vacant next month are from 16 states. For the 58 Rajya Sabha seats to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states have been unanimously elected.

Here are the Highlights of Rajya Sabha election result 2018:

Read More

Rajya Sabha Election Results Live Updates:


OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more