• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Karnataka Politics Updates: Speaker disqualifies 14 rebel MLAs; floor test on Monday

By Anuj Cariappa

Bengaluru, July 29: Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqulified 14 rebel MLAs, a day before the newly formed BJP government is expected to face a trust vote. He has disqualified them till the expiry of the current Assembly's term, in 2023.

With this the strenth of the 225 member house comes down to 208. The BJP has 105 members and is perched beyond the majority mark.

Ramesh Kumar

Yediyurappa, who earlier staked a claim to form the government will have to prove his majority by July 31. The all important finance bill has to be passed by July 31.

Stay tuned for all the LIVE updates here:

Newest First Oldest First
10:34 PM, 28 Jul
Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa said,''BJP legislature party meeting was held today, we discussed tomorrow's programme in the Assembly in detail. I'm going to move a confidence motion tomorrow, afterwards I'll introduce Finance Bill. I think both Congress & JD(S) are going to support it.''
10:07 PM, 28 Jul
Satish Jarkiholi blames Ramesh Jarkiholi for collapse of government, says he was the first to raise voice of dissent and by-elections can come anytime in the state. He adds that they have to rebuild congress in Belgavi.
10:06 PM, 28 Jul
Paratap Gouda Patil, says they will approach SC against Speaker #RameshKumar’s order and are confident of getting the justice from SC.
10:06 PM, 28 Jul
Sadanand Gowda reacts on disqualification of MLAs, says he won’t comment on whether the speaker’s decision is right and courts will decide what’s right and what’s wrong. He adds that assembly proceedings were delayed by unwanted drama.
10:06 PM, 28 Jul
Former Minister Shivanand Patil slams H D Revanna, says he used to intervene in all departments and and there were several misunderstandings between them.
10:05 PM, 28 Jul
Congress LP meeting to be held on July 29. CLP leader Siddaramaiah to chair the meeting at 9 am ahead of floor test.
10:05 PM, 28 Jul
Former CM Jagadish Shettar slams Speaker Ramesh Kumar for disqualifying coalition's rebel MLAs, says the decision has not brought anybody justice.
10:04 PM, 28 Jul
KPCC chief Dinesh Gundu Rao says Speaker Ramesh Kumar gave a historic decision.
9:55 PM, 28 Jul
Former Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Sunday welcomed speaker’s decision to disqualify 14 rebels legislators and said it will send strong signals to the public representatives who ‘might fall for BJP's trap.’ "I welcome the decision of the speaker to disqualify 14 legislators. This honest decision of speaker will send strong signals for all the representatives in the country who might fall for BJP's trap," the senior Congress leader tweeted.
9:51 PM, 28 Jul
Karnataka BJP MLAs to stay the night at hotel Chancery Pavilion in Bengaluru, where they held a legislative party meeting, today. Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa has to prove majority in the Assembly, tomorrow.
7:24 PM, 28 Jul
Pratap Gowda Patil (disqualified rebel Congress MLA) said,''My dear voters&my ppl of Maski assembly constituency, I assure you of getting justice in Supreme Court after Karnataka Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified us from the assembly. No need to worry, we will get justice in SC soon.''
7:03 PM, 28 Jul
BJP Legislative Party meeting underway at the hotel, Chancery Pavilion in Bengaluru.
7:03 PM, 28 Jul
Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa arrives for BJP Legislative Party meeting at the hotel, Chancery Pavilion in Bengaluru
5:44 PM, 28 Jul
Karnataka Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting called tomorrow at Vidhana Soudha, ahead of vote of confidence tomorrow.
5:28 PM, 28 Jul
Rebel JD(S) MLA A H Vishwanath, who was disqualified by the Karnataka Speaker on Sunday, said the decision was "against the law" and he and other aggrieved legislators would approach the Supreme Court for redressal on Monday.
4:04 PM, 28 Jul
Anand Singh, the first MLA to tender resignation on July 1, is among the 17 MLAs who have been disqualified by Karnataka Speaker Ramesh Kumar.
4:03 PM, 28 Jul
JD(S) supremo and former Prime Minister H D Devegowda breaks down during a press meet held in Bengaluru. He was seen wiping tears as he said that he regrets him sidelining those who worked for the party. "I wasn't able to give them the respect and recognition they deserved," he said.
3:40 PM, 28 Jul
Former CM Jagadish Shettar slams Speaker Ramesh Kumar for disqualifying coalition's rebel MLAs, says the decision has not brought anybody justice.
1:41 PM, 28 Jul
Siddaramaiah also rubbishes BJP's claims that they'll win trust vote on Monday. Siddaramaiah says BJP lacks majority and adds that the coalition's rebel leaders cannot vote in the assembly.
1:41 PM, 28 Jul
Former CM Siddaramaiah welcomes Speaker Ramesh Kumar’s decision, says the decision sends out a strong message to leaders from all over the country will might fall for BJP’s trap.
1:40 PM, 28 Jul
BJP Legislature Party meeting scheduled at 3 PM has been postponed to 6 PM. BJP leaders are to discuss strategies for Floor Test.
1:03 PM, 28 Jul
Karnataka Congress welcomes Speaker Ramesh Kumar's decision on rebel MLAs, says people will punish the rebels who betrayed their respective parties.
12:41 PM, 28 Jul
I have nothing to comment, I have done my job. The rebel MLAs are free to raise all this in the Supreme Court or at any appropriate forum, says Ramesh Kumar.
12:29 PM, 28 Jul
The disqualified MLAs will not be able to contest elections till the term of the 15th assembly is over.
12:14 PM, 28 Jul
Congress MLA Shrimant Patil has also been disqualified by Speaker Ramesh Kumar.
12:14 PM, 28 Jul
JD(S) MLAs H Vishwanath, Narayan Gowda & Gopalaiah disqualified by Speaker Ramesh Kumar.
12:14 PM, 28 Jul
Congress MLAs Pratap Gouda Patil, BC Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, ST Somashekar, Byrathi Basavaraj, Anand Singh, Roshan Baig, K Sudhakar, Muniratna, MTB Nagaraj disqualified by Speaker Ramesh Kumar.
12:08 PM, 28 Jul
The BJP had staked claim to power after the coalition government of the Congress and HD Kumaraswamy failed the trust vote last week.
12:08 PM, 28 Jul
Speaker of Karnataka Legislative Assembly Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqulified 14 rebel MLAs, three days after the Speaker disqualified 3 MLAs.
11:50 AM, 28 Jul
Speaker Ramesh Kumar decides on the resignations of coalition's rebel MLAs. Congress leader Siddaramaih and Dinesh Gundu Rao had filed disqualification petition on July 26, says Speaker.

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X