IFSC codes, names of nearly 1300 SBI branches changed: Know new codes here

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
    State bank of India changed names and IFSC codes of 1200 branches, know how to check | Oneindia News

    The State Bank of India (SBI) has changed the names and IFSC codes of 1295 of its branches.

    A SBI branch

    The bank has also published on its website the full list of all those branches whose names and codes have been changed.

    Click here to know the new branch names and codes.

    The country's largest lender has changed the names and IFSC codes of branches located in major cities such as Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Lucknow, among others.

    It important for customers to know new codes to do RTGS and NEFT transfers. Even online transactions ask for IFSC codes.

    IFSC is short for Indian Financial System Code and represents the 11 digit character that you can usually see on your bank's cheque leaves, or other bank-sponsored material. This 11 character code helps identify the individual bank branches that participate in the various online money transfer options like NEFT and RTGS.

    The SBI in April this year merged its five associate banks - State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Travancore, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore - and also Bhartiya Mahila Bank into itself.

    OneIndia News

    For Breaking News from Oneindia
    Get instant news updates throughout the day.