• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Oneindia App Download

How JD(U)-BJP split hurts NDA in Rajya Sabha

Google Oneindia News

New Delhi, Aug 10: With Janata Dal (United)'s exit from the BJP in Bihar, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has suffered a small setback in Rajya Sabha.

Nitish Kumar-led JD(U), has five MPs including Deputy Chairperson Harivansh in Rajya Sabha.

How JD(U)-BJP split hurts NDA in Rajya Sabha

Harivansh's fate now hangs in the balance as he may have to resign since his party has moved out of the ruling alliance. However, Harivansh may continue in the post going by precedence set by Somnath Chatterjee who remained the Speaker of Lok Sabha even after he was expelled by the CPI(M) from the party.

The JD(U) has 16 MPs in Lok Sabha, but the BJP enjoys an absolute majority of its own in the lower house. The BJP does not have a majority of its own in Rajya Sabha, where the saffron party has only 91 members.

It has the support of a total of 110 MPs, which includes two independents and the AIADMK (four MPs). In the 245-member house, the BJP would require the support of 123 for a simple majority, for which it would need the support of three more independents and either the BJD or the YSRCP.

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and the YSR Congress Party, which have nine MPs each in Rajya Sabha, have extended their support to the ruling party in getting key legislations passed in the recent past.

Among the eight other MPs of regional parties which are allies of NDA are Ramdas Athawale of RPI-A, Hishey Lachungpa of Sikkim Democratic Front, Birendra Prasad Baishya of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), Anbumani Ramadoss of Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and G K Vasan of Tamil Maanila Congress (Moopanar).

Wanweiroy Kharlukhi of the National People's Party, K Vanlalvena of Mizo National Front and Rwngwra Narzary of United People's Party (Liberal) are also backing the BJP. Besides, two independent MPs - Ajit Kumar Bhuyan from Assam and Kartikeya Sharma from Haryana - are also with the ruling NDA.

Akhilesh Yadav congratulates Nitish, Tejashwi on taking oath as Bihar CM, Dy CMAkhilesh Yadav congratulates Nitish, Tejashwi on taking oath as Bihar CM, Dy CM

The current strength of Rajya Sabha is 237. After the JD(U) left the scene, the NDA's number has been reduced to 109, or 10 short of the majority mark.

The government can nominate three more MPs before the winter session and the BJP is expected to win the Tripura seat, whenever the election takes place.

Even then, the NDA's strength will be 113, which will still be short of the new halfway mark of 121.

The BJP will need the support of the regional parties on crucial bills.

For Daily Alerts
Best Deals and Discounts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X