• search
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now  
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Gujarat Assembly elections 2017: Patidars, OBC dominate BJP list

By Deepika

The Bharatiya Janata party on Friday released the first list of candidates for the upcoming Gujarat Assembly elections. Interestingly, the Patidar factor has dominated the ticket distribution.

PM Modi along with BJP chief Amit Shah

In the list of 70 names, the BJP has included the names of 16 Patidars, including that of Deputy CM Nitinbhai Patel.

The BJP has been beleaguered in the face of a Patel agitation led by 24-year-old Hardik Patel. The BJP has clearly reached out to the Patidar community and has made the task difficult for the Congress.

If the Congress fields less than 16 out of 70 names, it risks being seen as less pro-Patidar than the BJP. If it yields a higher number of Patidars, it risks alienating other communities such as OBCs in Gujarat.

Patidars are believed to constitute up to 18 percent of Gujarat's electorate. The community, which has supported the BJP for two decades, is perceived to be at loggerheads with the party over a demand for reservations under the OBC quota.

Voting to elect 182 members to the assembly will be held in two phases on December 9 and 14. The results are expected on December 18. The list includes candidates for both the phases.

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more