• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Exit polls 2018 highlights: Majority of exit polls predict Congress win in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh


Bengaluru, Dec 7: Majority of the exit polls have predicted a Congress win in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh and a nail-biter finish for the BJP in Madhya Pradesh. In Telangana, Congress-TDP combine may fail to unseat Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao. The caretaker CM KCR's decision to call for snap polls may prove beneficial for TRS.

Exit polls 2018: Who will rule the five state assemblies?

All the three exit polls (Republic-CVoter, Times Now-CNX and NewsX-Neta) predicted an easy win for Mizo National Front (MNF) over incumbent Congress.

Counting of votes for all the five assembly states will be held on December 11. BJP leaders, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Raman Singh seeking a mandate for the fourth term in Madhya Pradesh and tribal-state Chhattisgarh respectively. In Rajasthan, Vasundhara Raje Scindia government seeking a mandate for the second consecutive term and for the third term overall.

K Chandrashekar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) seeking the second term for the state formed in 2014. In the 2014 elections, TRS (Telangana Rashtra Samithi) emerged victorious with 63 Assembly seats and 11 out of 17 Lok Sabha seats. Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao took the oath as the first Chief Minister of Telangana on June 2, 2014. Out of 119, 88 were General Category candidates, 19 SC and 12 ST candidates.

Stay tuned for updates from polls here:

Read More

Madhya Pradesh:

BJP ruled Madhya Pradesh witnessed 75 per cent voting turn out in a single phase election held on November 28. BJP has fielded candidates in all 230 seats, while the Congress is contesting in 229 seats leaving one seat, Jatara in Tikamgarh district, for Sharad Yadav-led Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD). The magic number to rule MP is 116. And the number of reserved seats in the state is 82, at 35 for SC and 47 for the ST category.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan seeking a mandate for the fourth term. Counting of votes for Madhya Pradesh Pradesh will take place on December 11.


Voting was held in two phases on Nov 12 and 20. Chhattisgarh recorded 70% turnout as polls ended for 18 seats spread over eight districts in the first phase. At least six Maoists were reportedly killed in two encounters with security personnel in Bijapur and Sukma districts. Overall voter turnout was 76.35 per cent.

A total of 1,079 candidates are in the fray, with both the Congress and the BJP contesting all the 72 seats. The BJP is in power in the state since 2003.

In the 2013 assembly polls, the state witnessed an overall voter turnout of 77.40 per cent. The polling percentage in 2013 is higher than the turnout in 2018 by over 1.05 percentage points.


Voting for the 40 assembly seats in Mizoram was held on November 28. Total voter population in Mizoram is 7.68 lakh, according to the Election Commission of India report. Mizoram is the only state where women electors outnumber men. Of the total 7.68 lakh voters, as many as 3.93 lakh are women and 3.74 lakh are men.

The direct contest is between the ruling Congress (in power since 2008) and the Mizo National Front (MNF). But several others including the BJP, the National People's Party (NPP) and the Zoram Peoples Movement (ZPM) could play crucial roles in the formation of the next government.

The northeastern state recorded 80 per cent voter turnout down from what was 83.41 per cent in 2013 and 82.35 seats in 2008 assembly polls.


Voting to elect new Assemblies in Rajasthan would be held on December 7 and the counting of votes would take place on December 11. The state is currently ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party with Vasundhara Raje as its Chief Minister. The saffron party currently has 163 MLAs while the Congress has 21.


The incumbent Telangana Rashtra Samithi, the Indian National Congress, Telangana Jana Samithi, and Telugu Desam Party are considered to be the main contestants in the election. Four opposition parties in the state, the INC, the TJS, the TDP and the CPI have announced the formation of a 'MahaKootami' (Grand Alliance), with an objective of defeating the ruling TRS in the elections.

The BJP is contesting alone in the elections. It is fitting in all 119 seats.

Read Opinion Poll related stories here:

Survey gives majority to Cong in Rajasthan, MP; close fight in Chhattisgarh, Mizoram

Times Now-CNX Pre-Poll Survey: TRS set to form govt in Telangana, Mahakootami to emerge second

Congress may storm to power in Rajasthan; BJP likely to retain MP, Chhattisgarh: Survey

ABP DeshKaMood survey: Mahagathbandhan in UP likely to affect BJP's tally


For Daily Alerts

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more