Ramon Magsaysay award: All you need to know about it

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia's highest honour till date is given to celebrate greatness of spirit and transformative leadership. Over three hundred outstanding men, women and organizations were given this prestigious award since its inception in 1957.

The award is conferred on those whose selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most intractable problems of human development.

Ramon Magsaysay award

Awardees are selected annually by the trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation. Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay.

Here are some facts about the Ramon Magsaysay award

  • The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation was created in 1957 and was named after the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after World War II.
  • In the same year (1957) Philippines lost Ramon Magsaysay in a plane crash on March 17.
  • The Award is presented to awardees in formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31, the birth anniversary of Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay.
  • The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958.
  • The first awards were given to five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka, and a Philippine-based organization.
  • It is considered as the Nobel prize of Asia.

Read More: Social worker Anshu Gupta and whistleblower Sanjiv Chaturvedi win Ramon Magsaysay awards

List of Indians who have received Ramon Magsaysay award

  • Amitabha Chowdhury
  • Kiran Bedi
  • T N Seshan
  • James Michael Lyngdoh
  • Jayaprakash Narayan
  • M.S. Subbulakshmi
  • Manibhai Desai
  • Baba Amte
  • Lakshmi Chand Jain
  • Banoo Jehangir Coyaji
  • Mahesh Chandra Mehta
  • V Shanta
  • Vinoba Bhave

  • Verghese Kurien India
  • Dr. Dara N Khurody India
  • Tribhuvandas Patel
  • Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay
  • M.S. Swaminathan
  • Ela Bhatt
  • Mabelle Arole India
  • Rajanikant Arole
  • Pramod Karan Sethi India
  • Chandi Prasad Bhatt
  • Pandurang Shastri Athavale
  • Aruna Roy India
  • Rajendra Singh
  • Shantha Sinha
  • Prakash Amte 
  • Mandakini Amte
  • Amitabha Chowdhury
  • Satyajit Ray
  • Boobli George Verghese India
  • Sombhu Mitra
  • Gour Kishore Ghosh India
  • Arun Shourie
  • R. K. Laxman
  • K.V. Subbanna India
  • Ravi Shankar
  • Mahasweta Devi
  • Palagummi Sainath
  • Mother Teresa
  • Jockin Arputham
  • Laxminarayan Ramdas
  • Sandeep Pandey
  • Arvind Kejriwal
  • Nileema Mishra
  • Deep Joshi
  • Harish Hande
  • Kulandei Francis
Please Wait while comments are loading...