Congress wins just 7 seats in UP, fails to open account in Amethi

Written By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

The BJP's win is historic indeed, but in the process of making a record, the party has managed to create another history. For the first time, the Congress, along with its alliance partner Samajwadi party lost all seats in Amethi with the BJP managing to win four out of five seats. The BJP managed to seize seats in Congress president Sonai Gandhi's Parliamentary constituency Raebareli creating history on Saturday.

BJP workers, with a cut-out of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, celebrate the party’s victory in the assembly elections, at party office in Lucknow.

The biggest fall from grace for Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi in particular, and Congress, as a whole came with the party managing to save just one of the five assembly constituencies in Amethi at the courtesy of Samajwadi party candidate Rakesh Pratap. The Congress-SP alliance's candidates were reduced to a pulp with the BJP colouring the Congress bastions in Saffron.

Fall from grace for the Congress

After an agreement with its alliance partner, the SP, the Congress contested from 105 seats in the assembly polls. Of the 105 seats that it contested in, the Congress has managed to win only 7 seats. In the 2012 polls, the Congress had won 28 seats. The numbers speak for themselves.

The SP in Uttar Pradesh may have committed the same mistake that the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam did in Tamil Nadu assembly polls of 2016. In its alliance with the DMK in Tamil Nadu, the Congress fought for 41 seats out of the 232 assembly constituency seats but managed to win merely 8 seats. The loss in seats where Congress contested made a dent in the DMK's overall performance ultimately paving way for the AIADMK to win. The AIADMK had in fact lost 16 seats and the DMK had managed to win 66 seats more than what it had won in the previous elections.

Had the Congress won considerably in the seats allotted to it, the political scenario in Tamil Nadu would have been different. The same, however, cannot be said for Uttar Pradesh given the mammoth majority with which BJP won.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...