Voters face challenge in Bellary with 29 candidates on EVMs

Subscribe to Oneindia News
EVM-electronic voting machine
Bangalore, April 24: The Election Commission has to overcome logistic problems of arranging EVMs (electornic voting machines) in 33 constituencies for Karnataka Assembly elections on May 5. And the voters will face challenge in identifying their candidate as Bellary City constituency has 29 in fray, the highest number in the state.

These 33 constituencies have more than 16 candidates and a single unit of EVM has provision for 16 candidates only. But there is no worry as the EVM technology allows 64 candidates in a fray with 4 EVMs operating as a single unit.

Other constituencies with more than 16 candidates in fray are Varuna (27), Bagepalli (27), Gulbarga South (26), K.R. Puram (26), Vijayanagar (25), Rajajinagar (25) and Hebbal (24) in Bangalore, Madhugiri (22), Mulbagal (22), KGF (22), Mayakonda (21), Bidar South (21), Raichur (21), Dasarahalli (21), Vijayanagar in Bellary district (20), Chamarajpet (20), Chamaraja (20), Rajarajeshwarinagar (20), Mandya (19), Krishnaraja (19), Davangere North (19), Shivajinagar (19), Hubli-Dharwad Central (19), Bidar (18), Hubli-Dharwad West (18), Chitradurga (18), Bhadravati (17), Basavanagudi (18), Jayanagar (18), Gurmitkal (17), Basavakalyan (17) and Kolar (17).

Only two constituencies have least number of candidates. In Yemkanamardi (ST) in Belgaum and Mudhol (SC) in Bagalkot, five candidates are fighting to be elected.

A crowd is trying to pull down Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Siddaramaiah. He has to emerge winner with 26 opponents in Varuna constituency in Mysore district.

Even Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar is facing big numbers with 18 candidates against him in Hubli-Dharwad Central constituency.

A total of 2,948 candidates are in fray for the 224 Assembly constituencies.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...