Opposition protests outside Parliament over price rise

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 27 (ANI): The leaders of the Communist Party, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) staged a demonstration outside Parliament on Tuesday in protest against the price rise.

Wielding placards and shouting slogans, they criticised the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Government for its failure to keep a check on the rising prices of essential commodities.

"I don't understand why the government wants to destroy the country. They are forcing people to eat imported crops. Slowly, the situation will force people to take to violence to get their share of food. The situation will force encourage people to plunder," said Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav.

"Farmers are badly hit. Prices of fertilizers, diesel have increased, Inflation has reached 8 percent. Are they challenging this protest?" he added.

"Entire Bihar state is closed and we have decided to protest in front the statue of Mahatma Gandhi (father of the nation and country's freedom icon)," said RJD President Lalu Prasad Yadav.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati on Tuesday slammed the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Government for pursuing policies leading to price rise, adding that price rise is a big worry.

"Our principle concern has been the spurt in prices," said Mayawati.

"The government must control fuel prices. The government's economic policy is a reason for price rise," she added.

"Congress led UPA Government needs to re-asses its policies," Mayawati claimed.

A 12-hour all India shutdown has been called by the Left-led 13 party front demanding immediate control on spiralling prices, roll back in customs duty on crude oil and excise tax on petroleum products.

The parties leading the shutdown are Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India -Marxist (CPI-M), Indian National Lok Dal (INLD), Samajwadi Party (SP), Biju Janata Dal, Rashtriya Samajwadi Party (RSP) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

The shutdown is affecting the normal life in the states of Kerala, West Bengal, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, and Orissa.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is not a part of this shutdown. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...