Tamil Nadu just manage to beat Orissa by 5-4

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chandigarh, Sep 22 (UNI) Four matches of intra-cluster league were played today in the 31st Sub Junior National Football Championship 2008 for Mir Iqbal Hussain Trophy in Mahilpur .

In the morning session, Tamil Nadu played an aggressive game against Orissa. Tamil Nadu used exceptional speed and skill while Orissa depended upon their brawn.

S Murugan opened the score for Tamil Nadu in the 13th minute with Orissa finding the net with a long looping high shot through Dhaneshwar in the 18th minute. Thereafter it was a ding-dong battle, with Tamil Nadu scoring in the 28th, 48th, 64th and 76th minutes and Orissa in the 37th, 63rd and 86th minutes.

The scorers were Murugen and Vimalnathan for Tamil Nadu and Lambodar Murmu and Sadan for Orissa. Finally time and luck run out on Orissa leaving Tamil Nadu with a score of 5-4.

The match between Mizoram and Chhattisgarh was a lopsided affair with the Mizoram scoring eight goal against nil by Chhattisgarh.

Lal Noonmavia led by scoring five goals, Lala Ramabia and Roziam Liana scoring two and one goals respectively.

The match between Punjab and Pondicherry was a virtual replay of their earlier encounter, with Punjab scoring 14 goals to nil of Pondicherry. The goals were record by Rajvir (8), Harpreet (3) and Harpreet Senior (3).

The last match of the day between Meghalaya and Kerela resulted in the former scoring the lone goal of the match through Reghunath in the first half. The match was interrupted due to dust storm.

As of today, Orissa and Pondicherry have been knocked out of the tournament.


Please Wait while comments are loading...