Cong wins Khairatabad by record margin of over 1.92 lakh

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jun 1 (UNI) The ruling Congress won the Khairatabad Assembly seat by a record margin of 1,96,269 lakh votes when its candidate P Vishnuvardhan Reddy retained the seat.

In a triangular contest, he polled 2,54,676 votes as against 58,407 secured by his nearest Lok Satta Party rival K Srinvasa Rao, while TRS candidate Mohd Khaja Arifuddin polled 54,134 votes.

The TDP did not field its candidate in Khairatabad as the Congress left uncontested the Therlam Assembly seat which was retained by TDP candidate T Lakshmu Naidu, son of deceased MLA T Jayaprakash, with 42,280 votes over his nearest Lok Satta Party candidate Reddi Lakshmu Naidu, who polled 13,583 votes.

With a low margin of 713 votes, TDP candidate S Ramesh Rathod won the Khanpur(ST) seat over his nearest Congress rival M Nago Rao who polled 39506 votes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...