Tap to Read ➤

Know about 4 UNESCO accorded heritage sites on Indian railway

krishna murthy
Darjeeling Himalayan Railways (DHR) was inscribed by UNESCO in 1999.
The DHR connects New Jalpaiguri with Darjeeling, passing through Ghoom at an altitude of 2,258 metres.
UNESCO inscribed Nilgiri Mountain Railways (NMR) in 2005.
This NMR scales an elevation of 326 metres to 2,203 metre, representing the latest technology of the time.
Kalka Shimla Railway (KSR) was inscribed in 2008.
The KSR is the world’s highest multi-arch gallery bridge and it was the testimony of the brilliance of engineering skills.
Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT), Mumbai was inscribed in 2004 by UNESCO.
The CSMT building is an outstanding example of late 19th-century railway architecture and advanced structural and technical features.
According to Indian Railways website, there are two more in waiting or tentative list namely Matheran Light Railway and Kangra Valley Railway.
More Web Stories
Next: Indian cities which are on UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities
Find Out More