Tap to Read ➤

IRCTC's VIKALP scheme lets you book in 7 alternate trains

Gowrish Babu
Railways has launched VIKALP scheme to address this. The scheme is valid for all waiting list passengers travelling in any Indian Railways train and classes.
A passenger can book a max of 7 trains. Between 30 minutes to 72 hours from the scheduled departure of your original train, you can get a transfer to alternate train opted earlier.
Passengers need not pay extra charges and will not get a refund for the difference in fare.
Only those VIKALP opted passengers, who remain fully wait-listed, will be considered for allotment in an alternative train.
So, how to book the tickets with the VIKALP scheme? Go to IRCTC applications and book your ticket like you normally do.
If you are not getting a confirmed ticket, click on the 'Opt Vikalp' option available just below the ticket details.
Then you will get an option to select the train of your choice, a maximum of seven trains can be opted for. Once you click on submit, your 'VIKALP' option will be activated.
Passengers can check their PNR status even after the preparation of charts of the alternate train for final status.
This information is also accessible through the call centre (139), PRS Enquiry counters and through web enquiry on http://www.indianrail.gov.in
More Webstories
Next: How to order food on train via WhatsApp?
Find out More