PM Modi, cricketers hail India's blind cricket team for T20 WC triumph

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 12: The Indian blind cricket team successfully defended its Twenty20 World Cup title here on Sunday (Feb 12), defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in the final for the second successive edition.

India beat arch rivals Pakistan by 9 wickets

With eight wins from nine matches, India had gone into the final as favourites and lived up to it with a comprehensive victory.

PM Modi, cricketers hail India's blind cricket team for T20 WC triumph

The team had won the previous edition by defeating the same rivals in the final in 2012.

Batting first, Pakistan made 197/9 but India chased down the target in 18 overs without much of a fuss, losing just one wicket in the process.

Man of the match Prakash Jayaramaiah stood out with a splendid unbeaten 99-run knock, while Ajay Kumar Reddy was the only man to be dismissed for 43. Reddy was run out.

Delighted over Indian team's impressive triumph, cricketers and politicians congratulated the visually impaired Men In Blue for their victory.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Sports Minister Vijay Goel too congratulated the Indian team for defending their trophy.

Here's who said what:

Narendra Modi: 

Virender Sehwag:

VVS Laxman:

Mohammad Kaif: 

Jatin Sapru:

Shah Rukh Khan:

Harbhajan Singh: 

Vijay Goel:

This is how fans hailed Team India:

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...