MSK Prasad appointed Indian cricket's new chief selector

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Sep 21: Former India wicketkeeper-batsman MSK Prasad was on Wednesday (September 21) appointed by the BCCI as the chairman of the new selection committee of the Indian cricket team.

Ind-NZ series schedule; Photo Gallery

BCCI named a five-member selection committee headed by Prasad, who was a part of the previous panel as the South Zone representative. Prasad replaced Sandeep Patil as chairman of the selectors.

MSK Prasad appointed as Indian cricket's new chief selector

The 41-year-old Prasad, hailing from Andhra Pradesh, played six Tests and 17 ODIs in his brief international career.

Gagan Khoda, who has not played any Test cricket has been retained in the committee from the central zone. Devang Gandhi, Jatin Paranjpe and Sarandeep Singh were the new additions to the selection panel. Of the three, Paranjpe does not have Test experience and has only played ODIs.

MSK Prasad appointed Indian cricket's new chief selector

The BCCI's move is in defiance of the recommendations of Justice Lodha panel, which had called for a three-strong panel with all members having Test experience.

The new panel was decided at the BCCI's 87th Annual General Meeting which was held in the backdrop of Lodha committee recommendations, which have not been accepted by the Board.

(Sachin Tendulkar Test retirement mystery: This is what Sandeep Patil said)

The 45-year-old Gandhi, who has four Tests and three ODIs to his credit, will be representing the east zone, while Paranjpe will be west zone's representative. Former off-spinner Sarandeep is the selector from north zone, replacing Vikram Rathour.

The 44-year-old Paranjpe, a former left-handed batsman, has only played four ODIs. Sarandeep, on the other hand, has three Tests and five ODIs under his belt, making him compliant with the Lodha committee recommendations.

In overall analysis, the new selection committee has a combined international experience of 13 Tests and 31 ODIs.

Former India seamer Venkatesh Prasad has been retained as chairman of the junior selection committee.

OneIndia News

(With inputs from PTI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...