KPL 2016: Samarth, Uthappa guide Bijapur Bulls to victory

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hubballi, Sep 25: Bijapur Bulls overpowered Namma Shivamogga in a rain-reduced Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Twenty20 tournament match at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar on Saturday (September 24).

Put in to bat in the second match of the day, Bijapur Bulls showed great sense of urgency in extracting maximum runs from the 13 overs-a-side match.

Skipper Robin Uthappa scored a 37-ball 67

R Samarth blazed away at the top with a punishing 51 (25b, 2x6, 6x4) and along with skipper Robin Uthappa ripped the heart out of the Shivamogga bowling. The duo added 77 runs in 45 deliveries to stamp their authority.

Man of the match Uthappa (67; 37b, 4x6, 6x4) took over the hammering and in the finishing stages Arshdeep Singh Brar (21 n.o; 9b, 1x6, 3x4) and Abhimanyu Mithun (17 n.o; 5b, 2x6, 1x4) further carved up the bowling. Champions Bulls made an impressive 159 for 3 in the 13 overs.

Mithun returned with the new ball to rip out two wickets in the opening over and another in his second over. In between Zahroor Farooqui chipped in with the wicket of Sadiq Kirmani to squash all of Shivamogga's hopes.

Brief Scores:

BijapurBulls: 159 for 6 in 13 overs (Robin Uthappa 67, R Samarth 51, Arshdeep Singh Brar 21) beat Namma Shivamogga: 94 for 5 in 13 overs (KV Siddharth 44 n.o, Pavan Deshpande 34 n.o, Abhimanyu Mithun 3/2) by 65 runs.

OneIndia News 

Please Wait while comments are loading...