IPL 2016: 2 new teams to play; CSK, RR to return in 2018 after ban

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Oct 18: The 9th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 9) next year (2016) will feature 8 teams with 2 new sides replacing Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals.

Full list of decisions taken by the Board

The decision to continue with the 8-team Twenty20 tournament was taken today (October 18) at the Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) Working Committee meeting.

IPL 2016: 2 new teams to play; CSK, RR to return in 2018 after ban

"The Justice Lodha committee interim report will be implemented fully. The two franchisee teams, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals remain suspended for two years. BCCI will float tenders and invite bids for two new teams to replace CSK & RR in the Indian Premier League for 2016 and 2017 (2 years)," BCCI said in a media advisory after the meeting.

It was also decided by the BCCI that they will not terminate CSK and RR from the league. The Indian cricket board will float tenders to add 2 new teams from 2016 for a 2-year term.

The Supreme Court-appointed Justice RM Lodha Committee had suspended both CSK and RR owners for a period of 2 years due to betting from team officials.

Both CSK and RR will return to the league in 2018 after serving the 2-year ban. And from 2018 onwards IPL will have 10 teams, BCCI said.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...