Top seed Aditya, 4th seed Vivek stunned; Navdeep, Yuki score upsets

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 3 (UNI) It was a day of big upsets as top seed Aditya Madkekar and fourth seed Vivek Shokeen were knocked out by Navdeep Singh and teenager Yuki Bhambri in the quarter finals of the DSCL Open National tennis championship here today.

Displaying fine form, eighth seed Navdeep Singh turned the tables on Aditya beating the top seed 6-4, 6-0 to storm into the semi-finals.

Delhi based Navdeep has been in very good form in recent weeks and against the shaky Aditya, he chalked out a facile straight set win without wasting much time.

For 15-year-old Yuki Bhambri, this was a day to remember as he beat the more fancied Vivek Shokeen 7-5, 6-3.

Completing the last four lineup were second seed Ashutosh Singh and Prajnesh Gunneswaran.

Against Aditya, Navdeep showed remarkable poise and went for his shots without worry.

''I am excited to be playing the semis of the Nationals where I run into Prajnesh (Gunneswaran),'' said Navdeep.

Yuki's win was very reminiscent of 1999 when Sunil Kumar, unsung and unknown, went on to win the title. Just that in Yuki's case, he got into the draw as a wild card and has made full use of it.

Yuki's strong point was his consistency against Shokeen.

The teenager set up the points well and it was his timing which caught the eye, as he showed patience in the exchanges.

''It's thrilling to be in the men's semis and I will approach it without thinking too much,'' said Yuki.

In another quarter-final, second seed Ashutosh Singh beat Vijay Kannan 5-3 (retired) while Prajnesh ousted Vinod Sridhar 7-5, 6-1.

In the women section, second seed Rushmi Chakravarthy was in some bother in the second set but went on to defeat Parul Goswami 6-0, 7-6(2).

Yuki's sister Sanaa Bhambri was in superb form as she routed Asha Nandakumar 6-0, 6-2.

Top Seed Isha Lakhani and Sonal Phadke also moved into the semi-finals, beating Asihwarya Srivastav and Rashmi Teltumbde respectively.

Results: Quarter-finals: Men: Ashutosh Singh bt Vijay Kannan 5-3 (Retired); Navdeep Singh bt Aditya Madkekar 6-4, 6-0 Yuki Bhambri bt Vivek Shokeen 7-5, 6-3; Prajnesh Gunneswaran bt Vinod Shridhar 7-5, 6-1 Women: Sanna Bhambri bt Asha Nanda Kumar 6-0, 6-2 Sonal Phadke bt Rashmi Teltumbde 5-7, 6-3, 6-2 Rushmi Chakravarthi bt Parul Goswami 6-0, 7-5 Isha Lakhani bt Aishwarya Srivastava 6-4, 6-3 Boys Under 18: Vijayant Malik bt Shatanu Rajput 6-0, 6-1 Prajnesh Gunneswaran bt B Vikram Reddy 6-0, 3-0 (Retired) Abhijeet Tiwari bt Christopher Marquis 6-3, 7-6(2) Ronak Manuja bt Sitaram Sudanwa 4-6, 6-1, 6-4 Girls Under 18: Aishwarya Srivastav bt Kyra Shroff 6-7(6), 6-1, 7-5 Tanvi Shah bt Shweta Solanki 6-4, 7-5 Kelsi Sundaram bt Sharmada Balu 6-2, 6-3 Rashmi Teltumbde bt Vishaka Sheoran 7-5, 6-2 UNI

Please Wait while comments are loading...