Tap to Read ➤

India's controversial British-era sedition law

Sedition law is once again the subject of debate as the Narendra Modi government has told the Supreme Court that it has decided to “re-examine and re-consider” the provisions of of the controversial law.
Who drafted the sedition law?
British historian and politician Thomas Babington Macaulay drafted the sedition law under Section 124A of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) and included it in the IPC in 1870.
What is Sedition law?
Sedition was defined as an act by ‘whoever, by words, either spoken or written, or by signs, or by visible representation, or otherwise, brings or attempts to bring into hatred or contempt, or excites or attempts to excite disaffection towards the Government established by law in India’.
Why was it drafted?
After the suppression of the Wahabi Movement, the Britishers feared that Muslim preachers in India would wage a war against the then government, and felt the need for such a law.
First known case of sedition law
The first notable case for the offence of sedition was reported in 1891, a trial against newspaper editor Jogendra Chandra Bose.
Freedom fighters tried under the sedition law
Leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Lokmanya Tilak, and Jogendra Chandra Bose were suppressed and they were tried under sedition law for their comments on the British rule.
What is Section 124 A of IPC?
Under section 124A of IPC, sedition is a non-bailable offense, punishable with imprisonment from three years up to life, along with a fine. They are barred from all kinds of government jobs and their passport is seized by the government.