By : Oneindia Video Team
Published : January 18, 2018, 02:58

Steve Smith named ICC Test player for the year 2017

Australian skipper Steve Smith was named the ICC Test player of the year by ICC. Smith who lifted the Ashes urn at the Sydney Cricket Ground in January scored 687 runs at an average of 137.40. The accolade means the Australians have taken the award in four of the last five years, Mitchell Johnson winning in 2014 and Michael Clarke in 2013. Ravichandran Ashwin took the award last year, breaking that Australian dominance. In the ICC rankings he has climbed to 947 points, just 14 shy of Bradman’ high watermark of 961 and there is clear blue water between him and the other members of the ‘big four’ – Joe Root, Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson.

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Subscribe to Oneindia News YouTube Channel for latest- exclusive news and video
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more