Home » Videos » News
By : Oneindia Video Team
Published : January 10, 2018, 08:21

BJP sweeps civil polls in Chandigarh, wins all 3 mayoral seats

Davesh Moudgil of the BJP was elected as the new mayor of Chandigarh after he got 22 out of 27 votes on Tuesday in the Chandigarh Municipal Corporation Mayoral Elections. Gurpreet Singh Dhillon was elected as senior deputy mayor and Vinod Aggarwal as deputy mayor in the 27-member Chandigarh Municipal Corporation, an election office spokesman said here after counting. Moudgil will be the 22nd mayor of Chandigarh Municipal Corporation. Moudgil bagged 22 votes as against his Congress rival Davinder Singh Babla who got five votes. Dhillon got 21 votes as against Congress rival Sheela Phool Singh who got six votes. Aggarwal got 22 votes as against Congress candidate Ravinder Kaur who got four votes, while one vote was declared invalid.

For Breaking News from Oneindia
Get instant news updates throughout the day.

Subscribe to Oneindia News YouTube Channel for latest- exclusive news and video