Kerala Assembly Elections 2021

Thrissur Assembly Election Results 2021

Thrissur is an assembly constituency in Kerala. In 2016, this constituency was won by the Communist Party Of India. Stay tuned with OneIndia for all the updates regarding this constituency. From campaign to election results, read all about Thrissur Vidhan Sabha (MLA) Constituency. Find out the winners, losers, victory margin and all other details in our special page. Thrissur under Thrissur district of Kerala State.

Padmaja Venugopal (INC), P. Balachandran (CPI), Suresh Gopi (BJP) are key candidates contesting from Thrissur constituency in the 2021 Kerala Assembly elections along with many other independent candidates.

In 2016 Kerala Assembly elections, the total percentage of voters in Thrissur Assembly Constituency was recorded as 42.19 percent.

In 2016, Adv.v S Sunilkumar of Communist Party Of India won the seat by defeating Padmaja Venugopal from Indian National Congress with a margin of 6987 votes.
Thrissur Assembly constituency is falling under Thrissur Lok sabha constituency. In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Indian National Congress candidate T. N. Prathapan won from Thrissur Lok Sabha (MP) Seat with the margin of 93633 votes by defeating Rajaji Mathew Thomas from Communist Party of India.

Date of Polling: Tuesday, 06 April 2021
Date of Counting: Sunday, 02 May 2021
Candidate's Name Party Votes
Padmaja Venugopal INC NA*
P. Balachandran CPI NA*
Suresh Gopi BJP NA*
Thrissur Mukundan igp NA*
Ajith Menon Ponnemkattil IND NA*

*Results to be declared on May 2nd, 2021.

Strike Rate
INC 71%
CPM 29%
INC won 5 times and CPM won 2 times since 1977 elections.

Thrissur Assembly election results (2016)

Candidate's Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
Adv.v S Sunilkumar CPI Winner 53,664 42.19% 53,590
Santhakumari K V IGP 10th 74 0.06%
Padmaja Venugopal INC Runner Up 46,677 36.70%
Adv. B Gopalakrishnan BJP 3rd 24,748 19.46%
Dr. Antony J Maliakal IND 5th 256 0.20%
P.s.unnikrishnan SP 6th 226 0.18%
Raji Mani PDP 7th 154 0.12%
S T Paramasivan IND 8th 153 0.12%
M Pradeepan SUCI 9th 111 0.09%

Thrissur Past Election Results

Candidate's Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
Adv.v S Sunilkumar CPI Winner 53,664 42.19% 6,987
Padmaja Venugopal INC Runner Up 46,677 36.70%
Adv.therambil Ramakrishnan INC Winner 59,991 53% 16,169
P. Balachandran CPI Runner Up 43,822 39%
Adv.therambil Ramakrishnan INC Winner 45,655 48% 2,596
M.m.varghese CPM Runner Up 43,059 45%
Adv.therambil Ramakrishnan INC Winner 54,424 52% 13,706
K.p.aravindakshan CPM Runner Up 40,718 39%
Therambil Ramakrishnan INC Winner 49,597 50% 10,209
M.r.govindan IND Runner Up 39,388 40%
Therambil Ramakrishnan INC Winner 53,190 51% 7,291
E.k. Menon CPM Runner Up 45,899 44%
E. K. Menon CPM Winner 41,822 47% 4,260
M. Venugopala Menon IND Runner Up 37,562 42%
Therambil Ramakrishnan NDP Winner 32,410 50% 1,841
M. K. Kannan CPM Runner Up 30,569 47%
M. K. Kannan CPM Winner 32,296 51% 3,424
K. J. George JNP Runner Up 28,872 46%
K. J. Goerge BLD Winner 32,335 50% 4,150
P. A. Antony INC Runner Up 28,185 43%
The "ONEINDIA" word mark and logo are owned by Digitech Media Pvt. Ltd.