• search
For New-delhi Updates
Allow Notification  

BJP clean sweeps Delhi, AAP left holding the broom


BJP sweeps Delhi in all 7 LS seats
New Delhi, May 16: As the saffron wave continues to grip the country, BJP managed to win all the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, leaving the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Congress red faced.

Celebrations erupted across the capital as BJP registered victory in all the seven Lok Sabha seats.

Even surprise challenger AAP failed to work its magic in the elections. AAP that had recently changed the face of the Delhi Assembly elections after its formed the government in Delhi in December 2013 lost to the BJP in the Lok Sabha elections.

While BJP had won the majority in Delhi with 31 seats in the Assembly elections, it failed to form the government. AAP had won 28 seats whereas Congress won 8 seats. That is when AAP seized the opportunity and joined forces with Congress to form the Delhi government .

However after a brief stint as the Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal quit and then focused his attention on the Lok Sabha elections, much to the criticism of the public. Kejriwal claimed that AAP would defeat BJP in the Lok Sabha elections and said that he would 'defeat Narendra Modi from Varanasi.'

But the picture on May 16 had a different story to tell. BJP won from all seven seats in the capital. AAP's star campaigners like Ashutosh who was pitted against BJP's Harshvardhan and Congress's Kapil Sibal failed to shine. Even Rakhi Birla, Ashish Khetan and Rajmohan Gandhi failed to garner enough votes.

Harshvardhan, Meenakshi Lekhi emerged as big winners in Delhi

Big names like Congress's Ajay Maken, Sandeep Dikshit too didn't garner many votes.

While the competition in Delhi was a tough one between BJP and AAP, Congress was trailing far behind as it was in the third spot from all the seven seats.

Before the results could be announced, many exit polls had predicted a sorry state for the AAP, thanks to Kejriwal's resignation and the non-stop controversies including his numerous dharnas and failed promises on AAP's part.

BJP candidates who won in Delhi-

Harshvardhan- Chandni Chowk

Meenakshi Lekhi- New Delhi

Manoj Tewari- North East Delhi

Parvesh Verma- West Delhi

Mahesh Giri- East Delhi

Ramesh Bidhuri- South Delhi

Udit Raj- North -West Delhi

OneIndia News

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more